Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetuer adipiscing elit, sed diam nonummy nibh euismod tincidunt ut laoreet dolore magna aliquam erat volutpat.
sidearea-img-2 sidearea-img-3 sidearea-img-4 sidearea-img-5

Recent News


[contact-form-7 id="2374"]

Women and Medias today

Home / Women and Medias today

What do we mean by « Medias »? 

The medias are communication tools that reach and influence the public on a large scale. They are traditionally associated with radio, TV, press, cinema.

Working in medias means taking part in the transmission of information. Whether it is during the creation of the information, its writing, its development or its broadcasting, the activities are diverse. The members of our association represent this diversity.


Some relevant figures

  • Within the four main daily French newspapers (Le Monde, Le Parisien, Libération, Le Figaro), only 14.2% of their front pages mention a woman. In the inside pages, 78.4% of the quoted personalities are men. (Source:
  • On average, women sign only 12.5% of articles valuing ideas and opinions (opinion pages, columns, editorials). Articles signed by women are also less highlighted: the front pages of the main daily newspapers present mostly articles written by men. (Source:
  • Women’s speaking time on TV is clearly lower than men’s one and represents only 30% of overall speaking time. Likewise the number of times a woman speaks represents only 33% of speaking opportunities. (Source: CSA)
  • 42% of women who speak on TV have a status of manager, while 55% of men have this status. It means that women are less valued than men even if they have the same status. (Source: CSA).
  • Only 8% of the managers from the 100 biggest cultural companies in France are women. Likewise, women occupy only 31% of executive positions in public cultural establishments committees. (Source: Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, 1st of January 2015).

Women in Media associations in the world

Several overseas associations have already enabled progress in terms of gender equality in the medias. Here are some examples:

  • The Women’s Media Center (United States) –
    Created in 2005 by Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan and Gloria Steinem, the WMC aims to increase the visibility and chances of success of women in medias, through the publication of articles, the creation of expression platforms, the production of TV and radio programs, and the organization of conferences.
  • The International Women’s Media Foundation (United States) –
    Created in 1990 by a group of women journalist, this organization aims to strengthen the role of women journalist in the world.
  • Women in Film and Television International (United States) –
    WFTVI is a worldwide network counting 10 000 members who wish to increase women’s chances of professional success working especially in cinema or television. Some events are organized all year round by regional antennas, such has WFTV UK, WFTV New Zealand, WFTV India…
  • Women Executives in Media (Switzerland) –
    Created in 2013 by the European Broadcasting Union, this network encourages the exchanges between the professional women of medias. During the annual forum, media company directors of various countries meet, exchange, and launch concrete actions of collaboration between women.
  • WFTV Women in Film and Television (UK) –
    In 1989, a group of women came together for the first official WFTV (UK) meeting. They were a mix of business executives, creatives and performers, including Linda La Plante, Dawn French, and Janet Street Porter. These were successful women who were fed up with the still male-dominated industry which demanded they be engaged in a constant struggle to be heard and respected.

janvier 6, 2016

Les femmes et les médias aujourd’hui

_MG_4206

Que définissons-nous par « Médias » ?

Les médias sont les moyens de communication qui atteignent et influencent le public à large échelle. Ils sont généralement associés à la radio, la télévision, la presse, le cinéma.

Travailler dans les médias, c’est ainsi prendre part à cette transmission d’informations. Que ce soit lors de la création de l’information, sa rédaction, son élaboration, ou sa diffusion, les professions y sont variées. Les membres de notre association représentent cette diversité.

 

Quelques chiffres 

  • Sur les quatre principaux quotidiens français (Le Monde, Le Parisien, Libération, Le Figaro), seulement 14.2% de leurs Unes parlent d’une femme. Dans les pages intérieures, 78.4%  des personnalités citées sont des hommes. (Source : Le Monde.fr)
  • En moyenne, les femmes ne signent que 12.5% des articles valorisant les idées et opinions (tribunes, chroniques, éditos). Les articles signés par les femmes sont d’ailleurs moins mis en valeur : les unes des quotidiens présentent majoritairement des articles écrits par des hommes. (Source : Le Monde.fr)
  • Le temps de parole des femmes à la télévision est nettement inférieur aux hommes : seulement 30%. De même, concernant le nombre de prises de paroles, les femmes ne représentent que 33% des occurrences. (Source : CSA)
  • 42% des femmes s’exprimant à la télévision ont un statut d’encadrant ou de dirigeant, contre 55% des hommes (Source : CSA).
  • 8% des dirigeants des 100 plus grosses entreprises culturelles en France sont des femmes. De même, les femmes occupent seulement 31% des sièges des comités de direction des établissements culturels publics. (Source : Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication, 1er Janvier 2015). 

Les associations de femmes dans les médias dans le monde

Plusieurs associations étrangères ont déjà permis de nombreuses avancées en termes d’égalité Hommes / Femmes dans les médias. Voici quelques exemples :

  • The Women’s Media Center (Etats-Unis) – Créée en 2005 par Jane Fonda, Robin Morgan, et Gloria Steinem, la WMC vise à accroître la visibilité et les chances de réussite des femmes dans les médias, à travers des articles, la création de plateformes d’expression, la production de programmes télévisés et radio, et des conférences.
  • The International Women’s Media Foundation (Etats-Unis) – Créée en 1990 par un groupe de femmes journalistes, cette organisation a pour mission de renforcer le rôle des femmes journalistes dans le monde.
  • Women in Film and Television International (Basée aux Etats-Unis) – WFTVI est un réseau mondial comptant près de 10 000 membres désirant accroître les chances de réussite professionnelle des femmes travaillant notamment dans le cinéma ou la télévision. Des événements sont organisés tout au long de l’année par les antennes régionales, comme le WFTV UK, WFTV Nouvelle Zélande, WFTV Inde…
  • Women Executives in Media (Suisse) – Créée en 2013 par l’European Broadcasting Union, ce réseau encourage les échanges entre les professionnelles des médias. Au cours d’un forum annuel, les dirigeantes d’entreprises médiatiques de différents pays se rencontrent, échangent, et lancent des actions concrètes de collaboration entre femmes.